This means that in February, when the deadline for accepting the new confidentiality agreement terms was extended until May 15, changes were made according to the statement on the same page. At that time, he warned that not accepting the updated privacy agreement would mean users would lose the functionality of the WhatsApp app. At that time, the page in question was saying “We extended the effective date until May 15”. “If you don’t accept it until then, WhatsApp will not delete your account. However, you will not have the full functionality of WhatsApp until you accept it. You will be able to receive calls and notifications for a short period of time, but you will not be able to read or send messages from the app. ”
Although WhatsApp has delayed the deadline for adopting the new policy, this change will take effect. These changes will take effect as of May 15 for new users and people who have already accepted the policy. The difference, however, will be that anyone who does not accept the new contract will continue to access the functionality offered by WhatsApp. Meanwhile, they will be shown a reminder to accept the new contract.
Those who do not approve the new privacy agreement will eventually be unable to use WhatsApp
After a few weeks, the reminder will become what WhatsApp calls a “permanent reminder.” At this point, the functionality of the application will be limited. Nevertheless, users will still be able to answer incoming calls and reply to messages by tapping notifications. However, they won’t be able to access the standard chat list from within the app. Finally, after a few weeks, users will also completely lose this “limited functionality”. WhatsApp says it usually deletes accounts that have been inactive for 120 days.
“We’ve spent the last few months providing users around the world with more information about our update,” a WhatsApp representative said in a statement. said. “At that time, most users accepted the update and WhatsApp continues to grow. However, for those who do not have the chance to do so yet, their accounts will not be deleted or lose functionality on May 15th. We will continue to provide reminders to these users on WhatsApp in the coming weeks. ”