Even if you are completely determined to stop using the popular application owned by Facebook, it is worth mentioning what this implies before getting into the matter. If we delete our account, the message history will be erased, we will lose all groups, the cloud backup will be deleted, etc.
The truth is that WhatsApp can take up to 90 days to completely delete all this information from our account, so if at any time we want to recover it, we may be able to recover all or part of this information. In any case, if we want to keep all the conversations and files shared on WhatsApp, we can send a copy to our email to check certain messages if necessary.
Steps to follow to delete your WhatsApp account
To completely delete our account, the first thing we are going to do is open the messaging application on our mobile phone. Once this is done, we tap on the menu button from the main screen to access Settings. Next, we select the Account option from the menu that is shown to us and in the next step, we touch on the Delete my account option.
This will show us a screen where we are warned of everything that will be deleted when we delete the WhatsApp account. It will also offer us the option to change the number and finally, at the bottom of the screen we will find the Delete my account button.
Therefore, all we have to do is click on this button and confirm that everything has gone well. If so, the account will be deleted and with the passing of the days all the information associated with it will also be deleted. It is important to know that WhatsApp may keep certain information from our account for legal reasons, possible fraud, illegal activities, etc.