For our whole life, in Windows we have had that function called ‘Recycle Bin’, whose task was to host the files and others that we deleted, house them and then be deleted or to recover them if we regretted having done it.
In today’s world of social media, when you delete a post on Twitter or Instagram you can’t get it back. Or yes, because Facebook just made it possible for its photography app.
Recently deleted from Instagram
Imagine that you had that recycle bin function on Instagram, and that if you delete a publication it will go there for a few days, giving you a margin of time in case you want to recover it. Well, that’s what a new function of the app called ‘Deleted recently’ does.
How does it work?:
Photos, Videos, Reels, IGTV Videos, and Stories that you decide to delete are immediately deleted from your account and moved to the Recently Deleted folder.
Deleted Stories that are not in your archive will remain in the folder for up to 24 hours. Everything else will be automatically deleted 30 days later.
During those 30 days you can access your deleted content by going to Settings> Account> Recently deleted in the latest version of the Instagram app. From there you can restore or permanently delete.
Check before deleting
As an extra protection measure, Instagram will also ask you to verify that you are the owner of your account before deleting or restoring content from the ‘Recently Deleted’ folder. This has been implemented to prevent that, if your account is hacked, your content can be deleted without your permission.
The update is now available, and you should be able to use it after updating Instagram to its latest version.