Facebook released the ‘Clean History’ feature promised by CEO Mark Zuckerberg in 2018. Thanks to the feature, users will have the chance to manage how Facebook follows them.
Facebook; For a long time it has been trying to give its users the ability to control their privacy on the social network. Yesterday published a feature users of the social networking privacy controls beyond the transport will be provided.
In a blog post published by Facebook CEO Mark Zuckerberg on Data Privacy Day, it was announced that the ‘Off-Facebook Activity’ tool was made available to users around the world. Thanks to this tool, users will be able to determine to what extent Facebook can follow them on the Internet . Zuckerberg called this feature Clean History , which he promised in May 2018 .
With the new feature, you will be able to delete your history on Facebook:
The feature, which was opened to a limited number of users in August, is now accessible to 2.4 billion people who are actively using Facebook . Zuckerberg said they postponed the launch of the feature because they had to rebuild some Facebook systems.
The feature announced by Zuckerberg works as follows: The activities of users visiting other companies’ websites are transmitted to Facebook and Facebook uses this information to show the advertisements that users are interested in . With the new feature, users will be able to see a summary of this information and remove it from their account if they wish .
The user information Facebook obtains through third parties still amazes people. Finally, the Electronic Frontier Foundation found that the ‘Ring’ doorbell application on Android devices sends information to Facebook through third-party viewers . In addition, the researchers found that apps following women’s menstrual cycles and some health apps also sent sensitive information to Facebook. The company advocated these information sharing as a ‘ standard practice’ .
With the new Facebook feature, you can delete your history as well as turn off the follow-up feature. So you won’t need to permanently delete your online history.
Facebook, however, warns: Although the new tool prevents tracking your online data, it will not prevent advertisers and companies from offering you advertisements based on other information (for example, your contact information ) . To prevent this, you need to close the ‘Ads based on data from partners’ tab in the Ad Settings section .