Instagram trick to read DMs without the sender knowing

0

There is a trick that allows you to read private Instagram messages without anyone knowing.

Typically someone who posts a DM on Instagram can see when you’ve read it, but you can disable those settings. The only detail is that changing the function will also affect the direct messages of all your contacts, which is not ideal.

It will also prevent you from seeing when people have read your private messages, but there is a trick in Instagram’s new Restrict feature to read a friend’s DMs without activating the “Seen” notification.

“They won’t be able to see when you’re online or if you’ve read their messages,” Instagram explains.

Of course, you’ll have to deal with other Restrict related changes. For starters, the person’s new comments on your posts will only be visible to that person.

You can choose to view the comment by tapping View comment, and if you want others to see your comment, you can tap Approve. Alternatively, you can simply delete or ignore it.

You will also not receive any notification for future comments from the restricted person. This is because this feature is designed to combat harassment and threats on Instagram. However, it is also useful for Instagram detectives who want to read messages silently.

How to restrict someone on Instagram

To restrict someone through DM, tap on the DM icon and enter the chat with the person you want to restrict. Then tap the “i” icon in the upper right corner of the chat and tap Restrict> Restrict account.

See Also
Photo alarming! Emily Ratajkowski takes it off and shows it

You can also restrict an account through a comment on your post. Just find your comment and swipe left (on an iPhone) or tap and hold (on Android). Now touch the exclamation mark “!” and tap Restrict> Restrict account.

Alternatively, you can Restrict people through Settings. In this case you will have to go to your profile and touch the icon that looks like three stacked lines. Then touch Settings, then Privacy and enter Restricted accounts.

Tap Continue and then find the account you want to restrict. Then just tap Restrict next to your username and the settings will take effect.

The final way to restrict someone is to do it through their profile.

Find the profile and then tap the icon that looks like three dots (horizontally on iPhone or vertically on Android) in the upper right corner. Then just tap on Restrict> Restrict Account.

It’s worth noting that the Restrict feature was added to Instagram very recently, so if you still can’t see the option then make sure you’ve updated your Instagram app to the latest version in App Store or Google Play Store.


LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here